Project X Zone for 3DS

Project X Zone, coming to kick ass and take names

A week or two ago, I got a link from UNIT0918 to play Project X on my 3DS.

That link changed myself forever.

Or not. We’ll see. How’s that for an anti-climactic page-turner? Onward.

Because of my ongoing affair with Fire Emblem: Awakening (seriously, I pushed “Tales of the Abyss” aside for a couple months now. What was I thinking getting another game whilst still in the middle of playing all these great DLC from FE. Either that or I need a life), I put it off, thinking I’ll listen to what he has to say. Yesterday I browsed the eNintendo Shop randomly and decided to download it because why not?

I should have listened to him in the beginning.

For a demo, it allows the player to access the game 5 times and once done, the game demo will disappear and you’ll have to buy the full version when it comes out later in June. I thought I would get a higher usage of play (Denpa Men and Brain Age: Concentration Training had 30 demo tries) but since the release date is relatively soon on June 25, I thought it was an appropriate amount of time.

Published by Namco Bandai, the game boasts an impressive count of 200 characters, both allies and enemies, with around 50 characters as playable. While I was hesitant at first upon hearing characters from different series will interact with each other a la Super Smash Bros., Namco did their homework. The dynamics within dialogue help pave the way for a story waiting to unfold.

The animation is awesome on something so handheld. I fangirled at the Sakura Taisen, Street Fighter, and Valkirya Chronicles characters, and loved how they kept true to the drawing style of everyone from their respective series. While pixelated on the map–think of Dragon Quest–the smooth artistry during dialogue conversations is captivating.

Gameplay reminded me of Fire Emblem due to moving individual characters within a limited amount of square space. That’s part one, when you move a character on the map. Part two brings you to the fighting screen–which I must remind you is not turn base–so be aware of the buttons you must press to unleash melee or combo attacks upon the enemy. Thinking about Super Robot Taisen OG Saga Endless Frontier? Good.

If you’re one of the lucky ones who pre-ordered this delectable goody bag of characters and attacks, you’ll find a mini-artbook, mini-poster, and the game’s OST. Ah the perks of pre-orders.

What you do not hear are the screams I'm keeping inside me.

What you do not hear are the screams I’m keeping inside me at the sheer awesomeness.

